## Supplementary Table S3. Relevant Laws and Policies on Taal Volcano Island Protected areas

Date enacted	Law No.	Title	Relevant Info	Significance
22 July 1967	Proclamation No. 235	Reserving for park site purposes Taal Volcano Island, situated in the Province of Batangas, Island of Luzon	"withdraw from entry, sale, settlement or other disposition and reserve for park site purposes under the administration of the Director of Parks and Wildlife"	2 years after the 1965 eruption
1 June 1992	Republic Act 7586	National Integrated Protected Areas System Act of 1992  An Act Providing for the establishment and management of National Integrated Protected Areas System, Defining its scope, coverage, and for other purposes		Establishment of NIPAS Note: months after the Feb 1992 unrest
8 July 1992	Republic Act 7623	An Act Declaring Volcano Island in Taal Lake, Province of Batangas, A Tourist Zone under the Joint Jurisdiction of the Department of Tourism, The Department of Environment and Natural Resources, and the Municipalities of Laurel, Balete, Agoncillo, San Nicolas and Talisay	Sec 1. The Volcano Island in Taal Lake, Province of Batangas, is hereby declared a tourist zone under the jurisdiction of the Department of Tourism, the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, and the municipalities of Laurel, Balete, Agoncillo, San Nicolas, and Talisayit shall be accorded priority development by the DOT and the DENR  Sec 2a tourism development plan for Volcano Islad and the coastal areas of the municipalities of Laurel, Balete, Agoncillo, San Nicolas and Talisay, which shall provide for the construction, improvement and/or maintenance	Note: months after the Feb 1992 unrest

			of such appropriate facilities and infrastructures as shall encourage tourism in the area.	
6 October 1996	Proclamation No. 906	Amending Proclamation No. 235 dated July 22, 1967, by Declaring the Taal Volcano Island National Park, Province of Batangas, Island of Luzon, A Protected Area under the Category of Protected Landscape	hereby withdraw from further settlement, entry, sale, explorations or other disposition, subject to private rights, if any there be, the Taal Volcano Island, Taal Lake and the watershed areas situated in the municipalities of Talisay, Malvar, Tanauan, Laurel, Agoncillo, Santa Teresita, Cuenca, Alitagtag, Mataas na Kahoy, Lipa City, Balete and San Nicolas, Province of Batangas and Tagaytay City, Island of Luzon and declare the same as PROTECTED LANDSCAPE for the benefit and enjoyment of the people  It shall be known as the Taal Volcano Protected Landscapeunder the joint supervision of the DENR, DOT, and the Presidential Commission on YTagaytay-Taal (PCTT) pursuant of RA 7586 (NIPAS ACT of 1992) and RA 7623 (Tourism Zone of 1996- sic 1992)  The purpose for the establishment of the Protected Landscape is to protect and conserve the ecological, biological, scientific, educational and recreational features of the area and at the	Expanded coverage and included other municipalties not previously covered in Proclamation No. 235 (1967) and RA 7623 (1992), defined boundaries with technical description

	same time, provide sustainable livelihood opportunities to the tenured migrants without necessarily defacing the natural features of the area.	
	The DENR, DOT, PCTT and concerned municipalities shall develop the management plan	