Editorial

Recognition of last year's reviewers and new plans for 2014

In its second year, *Advanced Optical Technologies* published another 462 pages of tutorials, reviews and other articles in the field of applied optics. All scientific articles underwent a careful peer review process. At least two reviews were taken into consideration for the editorial decision, in many cases the reviewers were asked to review the manuscript again after a revision by the author.

According to the standards of scientific publishing, this procedure is handled confidentially. Within our single-blind procedure only the reviewer sees the names of the authors while the reviewer's names remain hidden. Nevertheless, it is the hidden work of the reviewers that is absolutely crucial for scientific publishing. It acts not only as a constant quality control of a publication; it also provides the author with valuable feedback. In many cases, the comments of the peer reviewers have led to a substantial increase of the paper quality in the revision process. All this would not happen without the careful work of the reviewers!

Therefore, we as the publisher and the editor-in-chief would like to use this occasion to express our sincere gratitude to all those who helped with their constant efforts to make this journal possible. In the following we publish a list of the 2013 reviewers of *Advanced Optical Technologies* to give them a public recognition.

2013 Reviewers in Advanced Optical Technologies

Mathieu Aubailly Stefan Bäumer Jörg Baumgart Henri Benisty Pablo Benitez Paul Berger Ole Bethge Kostadinka Bizheva Clark Bright William Cassarly Xinbin Cheng Wee Keat Chong Massimo Cosi Simone D'Amico Keith B. Dovle Fabian Dürr Jörg Eberhardt Victor L. Genberg Alois Herkommer Jochem Herrmann

Stephan Hussmann Lars Jensen Marco Jupe Norbert Kaiser John Koshel Muneharu Kuwata Christian Larat Linda Lingg J. P. Liu Angus Macleod Horst Mattfeldt Yuri Meuret Jerry Meyer **Roland Meynart Juan Carlos Miñano** Maya Mueller Cornelius Neumann Arnaud Ogier Martin Oheim Francesco Pavone

Galina Rachkovskaya **Rainer Riesenberg** Simon Rov Jose Sasian Markus Sauer David Shafer Karin Stein **Ove Steinvall** Markus Strobel Italo Toselli Marie-Therese Velluet Kobus Venter Michael Vergöhl Mikhail Vorontsov Herbert Weiss Rolf Wester Carola Wicher Hans Zappe Hrvoje Zorc

New plans for 2014

The support of the optics community is a constant impetus to the editorial team for a further development of the journal. We will start the new year with a series of exciting topical issues on the following topics:

- Optical coatings
- Guest editors: Norbert Kaiser, Xu Liu, Angus Macleod
 Active imaging
- Guest editors: Hans Tholl, Martin Laurenzis
- Optics for astronomy
 Guest editors: Andrew Rakich, Jim Burge, Jan Burke
- Optical sensors and systems for precision metrology Guest editors: Gunther Notni, Wei Gao, N.N.

Together with the focus topics in each issue, *Advanced Optical Technologies* publishes papers from all fields of applied optics. In particular we welcome tutorials and review articles.

The journal has been accepted by Thomson Reuter's Journal Citation Report for evaluation which gives us

hope for a first preliminary impact factor in the summer of 2014. So far, first tests show that the journal has been well adopted by the optics community and the number of citations is increasing.

It is after all, a challenge and a great pleasure to develop this publication platform with the optics community in industry and academia. For further improvements we appreciate all kinds of feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us. You may contact us via email, our website www.degruyter.com/aot or through various social media.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Yours Sincerly,

Andreas Thoss Publisher

Michael Pfeffer Editor-in-Chief



Andreas Thoss studied physics and received his diploma and PhD degrees from the Free University Berlin in 1995 and 2003, respectively. For both degrees, he did research at the Max-Born-Institute Berlin on the field of ultrashort and ultra-intense laser pulses. From 1996 to 1999, he worked as a development engineer for medical laser systems with Aesculap-Meditec (now ZEISS Meditec) in Jena. In 2003, he joined the international publishing house, John Wiley & Sons. There, he gathered comprehensive experience as Publisher, Editor, and Commissioning Editor in the areas of book, journal, and online publishing. Among others, he cofounded the journals, *Laser & Photonics Reviews* (2007) and the *Journal of Biophotonics* (2008). Since its foundation in 2010, he manages THOSS Media, where he cofounded *Advanced Optical Technologies*.



Michael Pfeffer graduated in 1998 at the Institute of Applied Optics at EPFL (Switzerland), obtaining his PhD for a thesis in the field of optical nanotechnology. In 2002, after several years of working in the Swiss optics industry, he was appointed Full Professor of Optics and Engineering in the Department of Physical Engineering of Hochschule Ravensburg-Weingarten, University of Applied Sciences (Germany). Dr. Pfeffer teaches and researches in the field of optics, physical instrument design, and nanotechnology. Currently, he serves as Vice-Rector for Research and International Relations. In 2005, the General Membership Meeting elected him to the Executive Board and CEO for the DGaO-Annual Meeting 2006. From 2008 to 2012 he served as President of the German Society of applied Optics (DGaO). In 2012 he was elected as Secretary of the Board of the European Optical Society (EOS). Dr. Pfeffer is member of the German Physical Society (DPG), the German Society of Engineers (VDI), and the Standards Committee Precision Engineering and Optics of the German Institute of Standardization (DIN).