In the original article, there was a mistake in Table 2 as published. The total number of one reference was wrongly included in the calculation of the endpoint efficacy over 70%. Where it reads 83/430, it should be 83/311, therefore 27% (instead of 19%). The corrected Table 2 appears below.
Table 2
| References | Patients | Reported improvement | >50% | >70% | Mean daily dose (mg/kg/day) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total reports | 670 | 399/622 | 216/553 | 83/311 | (2–50 mg/kg) |
| Mean | 100% | 64% | 39% | 27% | 15.0 mg/kg |
| CBD pure (6) | 137 | 37% | 37% | 22% | 22.9 mg/kg |
| CBD pure (7) | 7 | 86% | 71% | 57% | 22 mg/kg |
| CBD pure (8) | 13 | 85% | 70% | 46% | 24.6 mg/kg |
| CBD pure (9) | 18 | 72% | 50% | 22% | 37.7 mg/kg |
| CBD pure (10) | 48 | NR | 42% | NR | 28.2 mg/kg |
| CBD-rich extract (11) | 19 | 84% | 74% | 42% | 7.0 mg/kg |
| CBD-rich extract (12) | 117 | 85% | NR | NR | 4.3 mg/kg |
| CBD-rich extract (28) | 75 | 57% | 33% | NR | NR |
| CBD-rich extract (13) | 74 | 89% | 34% | 18% | <10 mg/kg |
| CBD-rich extract (14) | 43 | 83% | 67% | 42% | 3.2 mg/kg |
| CBD-rich extract (15) | 119 | 49% | 24% | NR | NR |
Efficacy of treatments in the reduction of convulsive seizures (heterogeneous population).
Endpoints: any improvement reported, improvement > 50% (“clinical responder”) and >70%, and average dose reported. NR, not reported; ?, inconclusive.
In the original article, there was a mistake in Table 4 as published. Data from one reference was missing in the calculation of the endpoints mild AE and severe AE. Where it reads 285/663, it should be 308/663, therefore 46% (instead of 43%). Where it reads 64/487, it should be 64/483. The corrected Table 4 appears below.
Table 4
| References | n | Mild AE | Serious AE | Total AE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total reports | 663 | 308/663 | 64/483 | 326/663 |
| Mean | 100% | 46% | 13% | 49% |
| CBD pure (6) | 137 | 79% | 30% | 128/137 |
| CBD pure (9) | 18 | 67% | 0% | 12/18 |
| CBD pure (8) | 13 | 77% | NR | 10/13 |
| CBD pure (10) | 48 | 58% | NR | 28/48 |
| CBD-rich extract (11) | 19 | 37% | 0% | 7/19 |
| CBD-rich extract (12) | 117 | 30% | 0% | 35/117 |
| CBD-rich extract (28) | 75 | 44% | 13% | 33/75 |
| CBD-rich extract (13) | 74 | 46% | 18% | 34/74 |
| CBD-rich extract (14) | 43 | 37% | 0% | 16/43 |
| CBD-rich extract (15) | 119 | 19% | NR | 23/119 |
Negative secondary effects of treatment with CBD-rich Cannabis extracts and purified CBD described as secondary endpoints in the clinical studies.
*Reporting adverse events in a study population does not necessarily mean that it is related to treatment. NR, not reported.
In the original article, due to the errors in Tables 2, 4 mentioned above, corrections have been made to the Abstract as well as the Results, paragraphs one, two, three and five:
- “81/223, 36%” changed to “81/175, 46%” in Abstract and Results, paragraph one.
- “p = 0.56” changed to “p = 0.52” in Abstract and Results, paragraph two.
- “97/255, 38%” changed to “122/330, 37%” in Abstract and Results, paragraph two.
- “6.1 mg/kg/day” changed to “6.0 mg/kg/day” in Abstract and Results, paragraph two.
- “27.1 mg/kg/day” changed to “25.3 mg/kg/day” in Abstract and Results, paragraph two.
- “(109/285 vs. 291/346, p < 0.0001) and severe (23/285 vs. 77/346, p < 0.0001)” changed to “(158/216, 76% vs. 148/447, 33%, p < 0.001) and severe (41/155, 26% vs. 23/328, 7%, p < 0.0001)” in Abstract and Results, paragraph five.
- “17.7 mg/kg/day” changed to “15.0 mg/kg/day” in Results, paragraph two.
- “18%” changed to “27%” in Results, paragraph three.
- “83/430” changed to “83/311” in Results, paragraph three.
- “(Table 4)” changed to reference “(11)” in Results, paragraph five.
The aut hors apologize for this error and state that this does not change the scientific conclusions of the article in any way. The original article has been updated.
Summary
Keywords
cannabinoids, cannabidiol (CBD), epilepsy, meta-analysis, refractory epilepsy, phytotherapy
Citation
Pamplona FA, da Silva LR and Coan AC (2019) Corrigendum: Potential Clinical Benefits of CBD-Rich Cannabis Extracts Over Purified CBD in Treatment-Resistant Epilepsy: Observational Data Meta-analysis. Front. Neurol. 9:1050. doi: 10.3389/fneur.2018.01050
Received
02 November 2018
Accepted
20 November 2018
Published
10 January 2019
Volume
9 - 2018
Edited and reviewed by
Richard Lowell Bell, Indiana University, United States
Updates
Copyright
© 2019 Pamplona, da Silva and Coan.
This is an open-access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY). The use, distribution or reproduction in other forums is permitted, provided the original author(s) and the copyright owner(s) are credited and that the original publication in this journal is cited, in accordance with accepted academic practice. No use, distribution or reproduction is permitted which does not comply with these terms.
*Correspondence: Fabricio A. Pamplona fabriciopamplona@gmail.com
This article was submitted to Neuropharmacology, a section of the journal Frontiers in Neurology
Disclaimer
All claims expressed in this article are solely those of the authors and do not necessarily represent those of their affiliated organizations, or those of the publisher, the editors and the reviewers. Any product that may be evaluated in this article or claim that may be made by its manufacturer is not guaranteed or endorsed by the publisher.